Attempted Smoothie Bowl

Whoever thought of putting a smoothie into a bowl and garnishing it with some toppings is a GENIUS… or they were out of cups. Whatever the reason, people will pay anywhere from $8 to $12 for this creation. And that might just be for the Instagram photo but to each his own.

The reason I decided to make my own is simple. I too was one of those people who paid $10 for a smoothie bowl and then sat there as it melted to try and get the perfect angle for my Snapchat. It was delicious, but the infuriating moment came when I paid another $8 for a bottle of coconut water. There was a line behind me so I swallowed my pride and forked over the cash. But let it be known that I will never make that mistake again!

So my quest to create my own smoothie bowl at home began. I have learned that it’s basically the same as whipping together a smoothie just with a thicker consistency. Also adding a few toppings afterwards is a nice touch.

You can put whatever your little heart desires in one of these bowls but I hopped on Pinterest to get a little inspiration before scavenging my fridge. This is what I found…

First toss as much fruit as you’d like in a blender.

  • A hand full of strawberries
  • A hand full of blueberries
  • half a banana (yes I still sing Gwen Stefani’s song to spell out banana)
  • A slimy hand full of cut up mangos (don’t throw the whole thing in there…)

Now that those ingredients are in, it’s time to add some liquid to this smoothie party.

  • A splash of Orange Juice never hurts! Or any juice that strikes your fancy.
  • I also added a personal favorite, a lovely mason jar filled creation of rice milk and chia seeds that sat in the fridge over night. Don’t knock it till you try it!

I also must note that I added 2 tbsp of greek yogurt and a hardy hand full of spinach leafs. They just didn’t photograph as nicely…

Finally blend that bad boy until you are satisfied. After sampling mine I realized that I let it blend for too long and it wasn’t as thick as I would’ve liked. But hey, it’s all about trial and error here!

Then comes the fun part. Throw on any toppings you have handy. I went with some granola, a sprinkle of chocolate chips and a drizzle of PB2. (If you have never tried PB2 I HIGHLY recommend it! Mix 2 tbsp and a bit of water together, and BAM creamy peanut butter!

And there you have it, your own smoothie bowl.

I am well aware that my smoothie looks like sludge but it tasted heavenly so BACK OFF!

Instead of going through all these steps I guess you could just go buy one, but trying to create your own is more fun, and kind to your wallet!

Jeanne

| Live happy & always add a Dash of Humor |

Leave a Reply

