Brunch Spots: The Walrus

You know the saying, “you don’t know what you’ve got until it’s gone”? That’s how my relationship with the city of Columbus, Ohio has been for the past four years.

I went away to college at Ohio University in 2013. I thought Columbus seemed like a boring city with not a lot to offer. Boy was I wrong! When I would come home to visit my family I started to discover new places in the downtown area. By places I mean restaurants! A few weekends ago we wanted to go out for Saturday brunch. By the time we rolled out of bed and got our butts moving, a lot of the hot places had ridiculous waiting times… no surprise there. We decided to go with the shortest waiting time at a spot called The Walrus.

16807302_10154411717321279_4906034260190366897_n
Peep the awesome brick wall design (and us patiently waiting for our name to be called!)

With brunch menu options like Chicken & Waffles, Fried French Toast, and a Breakfast Burger we were sold. Not to mention very excited by the food coma that would shortly follow our meal! To start, I ordered the pecan flavored cold brew coffee. This set the stage for a delicious meal, and I wish I could sip on it every morning.

IMG_9774

After scanning the menu and making many mental pro/con lists, three of us decided to order the lobster roll: Chilled lobster tossed in house made lemon mayo dressing on buttered rolls. I can’t forget to mention the side of Walrus fries because I’m still daydreaming about them.

giphy (10)
Behold, the beautiful lobster roll in all it’s glory!!

The Walrus

Needless to say, I HIGHLY recommend a visit to The Walrus if you live in the Columbus area. Checkout the website for information about live music events, a detailed food and drink menu, and more. I will definitely be returning the next time I’m home!

Leave a Reply

